Constellation Creatives Bursary


The 2020 Constellation Creatives Bursary has been awarded to Sky Yang who has just completed a BA in Professional Acting at LAMDA.


“Growing up, it was rare to see someone who looked like me on stage or screen. I’m now entering an industry where East Asian and mixed race voices go under-represented and unheard. To have this kind of financial leg up and support when entering the industry from Yellow Earth Theatre and Orion Lee means the world – it gives me the opportunity and leverage to make my own content, and tell stories that get overlooked by the mainstream media. It will also be a huge help in covering the necessary costs of my first year out of drama school. My heartfelt thanks go out to Yellow Earth Theatre and Orion, for enabling me with opportunities that I otherwise would have struggled to have.” – Sky Yang

Now in its eighth year, the Constellation Creatives Bursary aims to encourage and promote greater participation and representation of British East/Southeast Asian actors on stage and screen by easing the pathway from graduating student to professional actor. It provides £1,000 towards additional expenses incurred in that transitional period together as well as a FREE year’s subscription to Spotlight.

The bursary is awarded to a drama school student of East/Southeast Asian descent who, in the opinion of the judging panel, has best demonstrated at the audition/interview that they have the talent, skills and commitment to succeed as a professional actor. The panel this year included John Cannon (Casting Director,BBC), Bryony Jarvis-Taylor (Casting Director, National Theatre), Orion Lee (Actor), Kumiko Mendl (Artistic Director, New Earth Theatre) and Helena Palmer (Casting Director, RSC).

The bursary is provided by actor Orion Lee, “I believe in the collaborative nature of our industry and in working together to constantly make it better. I think New Earth Theatre is a great organisation, constantly offering opportunities to BESEA performers. I’m proud to support it and the future of our industry by providing this bursary.”

Spotlight is also a sponsor.


Past winners: